Skip to content

Drivers License Requirements by State

Permit ages, holding periods, practice hours and night limits for teen drivers in every state and Washington DC.

Teen graduated licensing rules

Source: IIHS graduated licensing laws table, September 2026. Adult applicants often follow a shorter path.

StatePermit ageHolding periodSupervised hoursIntermediate ageNight limit
Alabama156 months50 (waived with driver education) hrs16midnight to 6 a.m.
Alaska146 months40 hrs161 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Arizona15 and a half6 months30 (waived with driver education) hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Arkansas146 monthsnone required1611 p.m. to 4 a.m.
California15 and a half6 months50 hrs1611 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Colorado1512 months50 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Connecticut166 months (4 months with driver education)40 hrs16 and 4 months11 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Delaware166 months50 hrs16 and 6 months10 p.m. to 6 a.m.
District of Columbia166 months40 in the learner stage hrs16 and 6 monthsSeptember to June: 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday to Thursday, 12:01 a.m. to 6 a.m. Friday to Saturday nights; July and August: 12:01 a.m. to 6 a.m.
Florida1512 months50 hrs1611 p.m. to 6 a.m. for 16-year-olds and 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. for 17-year-olds
Georgia1512 months40 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Hawaii15 and a half6 months50 hrs1611 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Idaho14 and a half6 months50 hrs1510 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Illinois159 months50 hrs1610 p.m. Sunday to Thursday and 11 p.m. Friday and Saturday, until 6 a.m.
Indiana15 (16 without driver education)6 months50 hrs1610 p.m. to 5 a.m. for the first six months, then later hours
Iowa1412 months20 hrs1612:30 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Kansas1412 months50 in total, 25 of them in the learner stage hrs169 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Kentucky156 months60 hrs16midnight to 6 a.m.
Louisiana156 months50 hrs1611 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Maine156 months70 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Maryland15 and 9 months9 months60 hrs16 and 6 monthsmidnight to 5 a.m.
Massachusetts166 months40 hrs16 and 6 months12:30 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Michigan14 and 9 months6 months50 hrs1610 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Minnesota156 months40 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Mississippi1512 monthsnone required1610 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday to Thursday and 11:30 p.m. to 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday
Missouri156 months40 hrs161 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Montana14 and a half6 months50 hrs1511 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Nebraska156 months50 (waived with driver education) hrs16midnight to 6 a.m.
Nevada15 and a half6 months50 hrs1610 p.m. to 5 a.m.
New Hampshire15 and a halfnone (no learner's permit is issued)40 hrs161 a.m. to 4 a.m.
New Jersey166 months50 hrs1711 p.m. to 5 a.m.
New Mexico156 months50 hrs15 and a halfmidnight to 5 a.m.
New York166 months50 hrs16 and 6 months9 p.m. to 5 a.m. (different rules in New York City and on Long Island)
North Carolina159 months60 hrs169 p.m. to 5 a.m.
North Dakota1412 months (under 16)50 (under 16) hrs16the later of sunset or 9 p.m. until 5 a.m.
Ohio15 and a half6 months50 hrs16midnight to 6 a.m. for the first 12 months, then 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Oklahoma156 months50 hrs1610 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Oregon156 months50 (100 without driver education) hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Pennsylvania166 months65 hrs16 and 6 months11 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Rhode Island166 months50 hrs16 and 6 months1 a.m. to 5 a.m.
South Carolina156 months40 hrs15 and 6 months6 p.m. to 6 a.m. in standard time and 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. in daylight time
South Dakota149 months (6 months with driver education)50 hrs14 and 9 months10 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Tennessee156 months50 hrs1611 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Texas156 months30 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Utah156 months40 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Vermont1512 months40 hrs16no night restriction
Virginia15 and a half9 months45 hrs16 and 3 monthsmidnight to 4 a.m.
Washington156 months50 hrs161 a.m. to 5 a.m.
West Virginia156 months50 (waived with driver education) hrs1610 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Wisconsin156 months50 hrs16midnight to 5 a.m.
Wyoming1510 days50 hrs1611 p.m. to 5 a.m.

These are summaries for teen drivers. Exceptions and details are in the state’s own rules, so check with your licensing agency. Read the IIHS table